Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    277

    Unanswered: access on the web?

    is it possible to use the database program i have set up now on the web?

    what would i need to do?

    besides setup the html coding and my web host supporting it....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Not as is.....
    you could if you can convert your forms to data access pages and your visitors have owc.dll installed on their pc (effectively if you are running on an intranet)

    failing that you will have to use some form of web based front end. If you are familar with VB & VBA and budget isn't tight then maybe ASP or ASP.NET is the way to go. If the budget is tight then maybe you should include other web dev orscripting offerings whether that be PHP, CGI, PERL, PYTHON etc...

    and whilst your at it look around for other databases which can support web usage better (eg SQL server for MS houses, or MySQL etc)

    talk to your isp she what they have / support and you can afford.

    There are hybrid technologies that can insert data into web pages, haven't tried 'em though.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    But then again looking at this thread it looks like you know that already
    http://www.dbforums.com/t1094997.html

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    277
    yea all i am really trying to do is not input info....

    but rather have it show info.. so that people can log into the web page and get their account info as far as due payment

    reference #s still open

    i just want it to pull info non input

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    There's still input. Unless the data never changes.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    277
    the input is entered from the front end that we have in the office.. all the info that would be on the website would be for our customers viewing only

    I would like for the website to pull the info from the tables that are on our backend

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    So you want a multi-tiered internet application that pulls live data from your corporate network? Access is definately not the way to go.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    277
    so what do you think the direction to go in is?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •