Question Table Design Help

I'd like to ask for an opinion of some more experience db admins. I am a programmer, but tasked to design a database schema. I have some normalization experience, but to be honest, the size of the application requires some insight that I might not have.

So basically, I have some tables in which I will have to represent what are called users and providers. For both of these, I will need to store their addresses. I want to know if it is a more scalable design to have one address table for both or to have an address table for each. For example, look at the to contrasting table designs below:

----- design 1 -----

So far I have:

users {
    id
    name
    }

providers {
    id
    name
    }

addresses {
    id
    line1
    line2
    }

user_addresses {
    id
    user_id
    address_id
    }

provider_addresses {
    id
    provider_id
    address_id
    }

----- design 2 -----

users {
    id
    name
    }

user_addresses {
    id
    user_id
    line1
    line2
    }

provider_addresses {
    id
    provider_id
    line1
    line2
    }

----- design 3 -----

or is there a better way to handle all this?

My thoughts that were design 1 is more normalized. Design 2 seems to be faster in terms of query speed.

Can you please compare and contrast these two designs?

-------------------------

Thanks in Advance!

As a general rule, I prefer one of anything to multiple. Based on that preference, I'd have one address table and use its Pk to link addresses to other tables. This helps enormously when you need to do address changes because they are all in one table, stored one way, and it also allows you to create a single routine to handle addresses within your code, which can then handle every address needed in your system!

-PatP