Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    24

    Red face Unanswered: Problem with Transaction Protocol

    Hi,

    i have a local DB2 (a kind of copy) with our DWH Structure.

    Sometimes i want to update the records (only for testing purpose).
    I use Informatica (ETL-Tool) to load the Data into the DB2
    (first Truncate the Tables)

    No i have problems with the Transaction protocol...
    concerning huge tables...

    Error: No space available in transaction protocol...

    I tryed to increase the size of the protocol and changed the settings concerning "commit" but with no success

    I there a way to load data WITHOUT the protocol?

    Thanks in advance.

    Anwy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    I think you are hitting on an Informatica error and not a db2 error .. Do you have a db2 error message associated with it ..
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    24

    Error Message

    hi,

    i found a logfile:

    PRE-SESS> CMN_1022 Database driver error...
    CMN_1022 [
    FnName: Execute -- [IBM][CLI Driver][DB2/NT] SQL0964C Kein Platz mehr im Transaktionsprotokoll für die Datenbank. SQLSTATE=57011

    Any Ideas?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    You'll need to either increase the number or size of DB2 log files, or re-configure your ETL process to update less data at one time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    24

    re

    i increased the logfiles to 10 logfiles a 25000 MB.

    i looked at the logfiles and the max was 5 files a 4 MB ?

    the problem is that there are NO updates but
    inserts (initial load).

    is there a possibility to load without logging?
    we dont need the poss. of a roolback..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    I don't know if Informatica allows you to execute custom SQL within the bounds of the same transaction that inserts the data; if it does, issue "ALTER TABLE ... ACTIVATE NOT LOGGED INITIALLY".

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    By the way, DB2 v8 allows "unlimited" log space...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •