Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9

    Unanswered: MySQL and Apache

    Hello, i'm new and I have a question:

    On my router i've opened port 80 and port 8080,
    and i've installed Apache and MySQL-NT. On a site
    i've downloaded the Criminals-script (online game). It's
    a .php script but I don't know how to install the script
    correctly. When i've put some codes in the database it says
    there is a error with $cfg['Servers'][$1]["pmadb']. When I go to
    my site (www.snakesolid.zyns.com/criminals/ it says there is still
    an error in the database, but I don't know where to put the .php files.
    Cause I tried to put them in my /www directory of apache, but then it
    still says the error. I just don't know where to put which file and where
    to install what in my database. It's all DNS and it's realy difficult. Can
    someone help me to make my database correct. To give me a example?

    I want to thank you guys.......


    Greetzzzzzz SnakeSolid.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9

    Extra

    The Apache server has made this maps:

    Mysql
    www
    php
    apache


    maybe you need this ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    And something else (yeah sorry) but the Mysql I use is v.1.4

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    So. Cal. USA
    Posts
    142
    Howdy! Umm... let me try to clarify some things...

    Apache is a web server application (httpd) and serves web pages.
    MySQL is a database that allows you to store/manipulate data.
    PHP is scripting middleware that can be used to interact between the two.

    In a typical Apache/MySQL/PHP (AMP) set up, you would put your .php files in the Apache root directory with other web pages and access them through a web browser. PHP does not necessarily come with Apache and may need to be installed or activated. You can test this by making a text file called something like "test.php" and putting the following in it...

    <? phpinfo(); ?>

    If you visit your site, (http://localhost/test.php or whatever) and you see a PHP report of your configuration, then PHP is installed and working properly. If you see just the <? phpinfo(); ?> code or something else, then PHP is not installed.

    By writing PHP code with HTML, you can write code to perform actions, including to read or write data to your MySQL databases. I would recommend also looking into phpMyAdmin as a helpful MySQL management tool.

    The error you seem to be getting seems to be some kind of configuration error. If so, you'll have to fix it somehow... maybe changing the configuration line to whatever it's supposed to be or maybe changing something to make the configuration true.

    Good luck!
    --St

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    thanks,

    I already got AMP installed (so when I make the test file it works) but
    I just need to configure my database (like you say) but that might take some
    time. I want to say thanks.

    Greetzzzz SnakeSolid

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    Oh, by the way, when I goto http://localhost/phpmyadmin/ it don't start index.php automaticly, do you know how to make it start automaticly?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    which configuration file do i need to edit? do you know ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    Please, can someone help me?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •