Talking Unanswered: I need help creating a login dialog box

i have created a table with field names: "User Name" and "Password" and i had added "admin" and "user1" and "user2" for "User Name" and gave them a password. I created a form that displays two text boxes one for "User Name" and the other for "Password" my question is how do i get the text entered in the box to go and search the table and validate the "User Name" and "Password"?

try to assign the value to a variable

VB6 comes with a login form (with code)

if you are going to validate against a DB then you should use a SP to avoid SQL injection
    to err is human ; to really mess things up requires a computer

i'm kinda new at this stuff, but i want to learn it so if someone can point me in the right direction i think i can take it from there

here's what i did

here's what i did:

Table contains ID | Username | Password > Username is INDEXED with No Duplicates Allowed
    The FORM has two textboxes "txtUsername" and "txtPassword", and a button named "btnGo"

I assume you've already got the db (database) and rs opened correctly, and pointed to your correct table.

on the "Go" button (button click event) I have the following code:

Private Sub btnGo_Click ()
    rs.Index = "Username" ' this will set the index of the table = Username
    rs.Seek "=", txtUsername
    If rs.NoMatch 'If the username isn't valid
    MsgBox "Username not found, please retry", vbokonly + vbexclamation, "Invalid Username"
    txtUsername.Text = "" 'clears invalid username from the form
    txtUsername.SetFocus 'puts the focus on the form, to the un txtbox
    Else:
    Call PasswordCheck
    End If
    End Sub

Private Sub PasswordCheck ()
    If rs!Password <> txtPassword.Text Then 'Checks the textbox pwrd versus the one stored in the table
    MsgBox "Password is invalid, please try again", vbokonly + vbexclamation, "Password Invalid"
    txtPassword.Text = "" 'clears the invalid pwrd from the form's textbox