Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: pay scales?

Question pay scales?

Does anyone know of a good reference for researching how much database managers get paid?

your company's payroll database would be a good start
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Database Manager? Is that the same as a DBA?

You Mean Enterprise Manager?

http://www.dice.com/
    Brett
    8-)

It's a Great Day for America everybody!

dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

my job

Thanks much for any info and suggestions.

I'm the lone db guy (self-taught, for the last 5 years) at my company and I'm researching what exactly in the hell I'm doing here (and how much, or little, they should really be paying me)...

The db is for an online store (of about 16000 records/products).
    I've designed and built all the procedures for: bringing in new items (and populating the fields), data cleansing, dealing with discontinued items, choosing what/how to display data on the web, calling images, uploading to the webserver, training others to do certain simple tasks in the db (ok, 3 people),
    back ups, etc.

I don't get many other projects. I work on this one single db. I also do some mktg abd graphics work.
    I really don't even know the exact difference between a db manager, a db developer, and a db admin.

the best way to determine how much your current employer should be paying you is to go out on a few interviews and get some feedback on how (or indeed whether) you would qualify

but do not make the mistake of taking this information back to your current employer with the comment "i think i'm worth $X because there's this job over at company Y where they're hiring at that level and i think i can qualify" because a good boss will have one and only one response to this strategy: "okay, fine, it was nice working with you"
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca