Thread: Database Access

Unanswered: Database Access

Hey guys!

I've used databases and ASP for a while now. A customer has asked me to implement something for him, that will let him store info about users (eg. name, date of birth, address, telephone etc.). This would need to be accessible primarily on one computer, but maybe on others as well.

I know that I have an option to create an ASP site, run it on localhost, and let him do it through Internet Explorer. However, you often see (in hairdressers, travel agents, restaurants) kindof like MS-DOS looking programs, (like black screen, plain text) - I think this is what the customer is looking for.

Would I be right in saying that this is referred to as the "front-end"?

I have no experience in this. Could anyone tell me what this kind of technology is/how to develop such a program/where I could get a program like this (freeware or commercial)

Thanks
    Conor

Yes, that would be described as a font end.

You can do this fairly easily with a db & ASP. Access will be fine so long as you don't have hundreds of co-current users. With heavy use - Access will start to mess up the data because its not really designed for that. For what you describe - Access should be fine.

Typically you would build your access db with all the relevant tables - like Customers for example - a table that contains all the customer info. Then maybe a table 'AdminLogins' - that contains the username / pw for logins.

You'd need the following type ASP pages.

Login - checks username / pw against the database and then directs to the admin page. Set a session variable if login is ok & then check for the session variable on every admin page - if not set - redirect to login. This prevents anybody accessing the admin pages.

Add Customer - inserts a new record in the customer table based off a form input

Edit Customer - updates a customer record - would need a routine to get customer from the db