Unanswered: SQL Stored Procedure and Crystal Reports 8.5

Hi guys!

I am new in Crystal reports so please help me on this one.

I have to create a report that will bring back the TOP 20 customers per Sales Rep. My SQL stored procedure needs a parameter @SalesRep to execute. My stored procedure links between 2 tables. How do I get this stored procedure executed in Crysal Reports to give me results. The SP works fine.

THANKS!!

Try this ...

The report should be a stored procedure report, and the procedure should only return a result, like in my example

create procedure SomeProcName as
    select blah, more-blah, even_more_blah from table_name

This is the only thing the procedure should do. If it produces any debug text or anything else it won't work.
    If you then choose to use the SomeProcName as source in Crystal you should be able to add the three fields in your report.

In the first step (in Crystal) where you choose where to get data from, you choose Database, click the options button, tick the stored procedures option, click ok, and then do a refresh. You should now have your procedure available as a datasource. The rest is more of a Crystal issue than a DB-issue .... come to think of it, it actually was from the beginning too ....

Provided Answers: 1
    Well, devising a query that returns the Top 20 records per sales rep is an SQL Issue. If you post your table structure somebody on this forum can help you devise a statement that will feed your report.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Yes, but No ....

"Well, devising a query that returns the Top 20 records per sales rep is an SQL Issue. If you post your table structure somebody on this forum can help you devise a statement that will feed your report."

True, however, when AuctionLamb stated in his/her message that :