Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    48

    Unanswered: creating and accessing federated database

    Hi,

    Can anybody give me all the steps needed to create a federated database and how to access data from such a database.

    We have UDB 7.1 on Linux. The server name is DEVT.

    I have 2 databases DEVPGM and DEVPLD and I want to write a select statement joining the tables from these 2 databases.

    I tried :
    Creating wrappers : Success
    Creating Server : It says the node name is not valid
    what are the other steps involved ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    33
    We ran into the same situation with DB2 Ver 7 on Windows. Since the default to Instance isn't in the node directory it can't locate the Node. So what we did is catalog another node on the same server and then catalog the databases to that node and referenced them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Posts
    28

    More information

    Are those 2 databases create on the same machine?

    What were the commands you used to create the federation?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    You may as well catalog it as a local node ..

    Quote Originally Posted by RonD
    We ran into the same situation with DB2 Ver 7 on Windows. Since the default to Instance isn't in the node directory it can't locate the Node. So what we did is catalog another node on the same server and then catalog the databases to that node and referenced them.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    48
    Thank you all for the replies...

    The 2 database are on same machine created with commands like :

    Create database devpgm on '/database/...../.../devpgm' catalog...

    and the commands used for creating federation are :
    Creating wrappers 'CREATE WRAPPER DRDA' : Success
    Creating Server 'CREATE SERVER "DEVMF4" TYPE DB2/390 VERSION 7.1 WRAPPER "DRDA" AUTHID valid_id PASSWORD valid_passwd OPTIONS ( NODE 'MSNODE', DBNAME 'DEVPLD' ) : It says the node name is not valid
    Are there any other steps involved ?


    Sathya : How do I catalog it as a local node ? And after that how do I access data ?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Just as you catalog a remote node as tcpip, you may catalog a local node

    db2 catalog local node <nodename>

    Then you should be able to use the node just as you would any remote node ..

    If I understand right, cataloging as local node will continue using inter process communications which will not be the case for a tcpip node


    HTH

    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •