Pedigree design in a database

Please bear with me as I am a complete newbie to database design. I am building a site that will track pets information, and more importantly at the moment, pedigree. So here is what I have so far:

table pet
    petID (INT,PK)
    name (VARCHAR)
    sex (VARCHAR)
    breeder (VARCHAR)

table pedigree
    pedigreeID (INT,PK)
    petID (from table pet)
    sire_petID (from table pet)
    dam_petID (from table pet)

Now, from here I start to get confused as when I try to pull the data out I am trying to join three sets of information from the same table with different relationships which is just not working out for me (I get errors). To add to that I would like to go back three generations, which means adding on to the pedigree table or leading it back to itself. This is probably a really stupid question, sorry, does anyone have any suggestions on how to do this? Thanks.

No, you've got exactly the right idea. The trick is that you need to join the pedigree table to itself to construct the actual pedigree. I'd strongly recommend using outer joins, since you won't always have some data to report. A query for two generations might end up looking something like:
    Code:
    SELECT *
       FROM pedigree AS this
       LEFT JOIN pedigree AS sire
          ON (sire.petID = this.sire_petID)
       LEFT JOIN pedigree AS dam
          ON (dam.petID = this.dam_petID)
       LEFT JOIN pedigree AS siresire
          ON (siresire.petID = sire.sire_petID)
       LEFT JOIN pedigree AS siredam
          ON (siredam.petID = sire.dam_petID)
       LEFT JOIN pedigree AS damsire
          ON (damsire.petID = dam.sire_petID)
       LEFT JOIN pedigree AS damdam
          ON (damdam.petID = dam.dam_petID)
    -PatP

Rufff Rufffff

Hi Jen,
    I started a conceptual model for you that 'I believe' captures some of the key relationships between your business entities.

- Animal -
    - Breed -
    - People -

You can fill in the attribution.

Vmusic