Unanswered: Basic Access Help

I am new to access and am having a little problem with a sub-form. I would like to be able to enter a product code and have access fill in the balance of the fields with information from a table. There is a product code, product desc, unit price. I can get the unit price to fill in but the prod desc always comes up with "#Name?". The other unit price fills in because I am using an "afterupdate" event. Hope this is enough information. Please help?

debit,

If I understand your problem, you are trying to reference a value on a subform field to the main form. If this is correct, please see the following link:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=208998

If your problem is simpler than that, and you just wish for Access to populate another field based on the value of a field you've entered (whether on a form or subform) - you can either use dlookup (see Access help for this method) or use a query to pull this value (but you can only return one value, so make sure the query only pulls the first matching value). Once again, if the field you're populating is on the main form and the field this value is being based on is on the subform, you'll still need to reference the subform's fields correctly using the article above.

Actually - the link above comes from a general Access help page that is very useful for beginning Access developers because it deals with many of the common issues we all hit when first starting out (such as referencing fields on a subform). The link to this page is http://www.kayodeok.btinternet.co.uk...ccesshowto.htm.

Thanks for your help. I am trying to populate other fields here is an example: