Thread: Hi Friends

Unanswered: Need a Help ( How to replicate a production DB into another DB).

Hi

I am an Oracle DBA , new to Informix. i have an assignment to be completed within 15 days. My request is :

There is one IDS9.2 production server running in HP -UX platform.
    tasks are :

1. Installing Informix Dynamic server in HP-UNIX.
    2.Creating database structure based on production database.
    3.replicating the production database structure in the new database without data( only DDL is needed).

I need any one of your help in this.
    Appreciate your help.

thanks

Sundar
    Last edited by sundar_sms2001; 01-30-05 at 19:10.

Hi Sundar,

This seesm like a rather simple task that should take a newbie (to Informix) not more as 2-3 days. Just some info on the steps:

1. Just follow the installation notes (which you can download from www.ibm.com/software/data/informix) On the left there must be a documentation link.

2. Just recreate the spaces. Also copy te onconfig ($ONCONFIG and sqlhost file) from the production.

3. The easiest step. Just specify the following command on the production system: dbschema -d <dbname> -ss create_ddl.sql
    Next step is to create the database on the second machine:
    create database <dbname> <log specification> IN <dbspace>
    After that: run the create_ddl script in dbaccess on the second machine.

If you have any other question, just ask on the forum. I think you will get an answer rather fast.

Some ectra info: IDS 9.2 is rather old and not supported anymore. Is the customer aware of this??

Greetz,

Rob

Thanks a lot

Hi
    Thanks a lot for your kind help.
    I have got some 75% idea from your mail.
    still i have some doubts.
    1. how many user can we create in a single informix database?
    someone told here that only one user can be created in a single database.
    2. In which user all the tables will be created and how can differentiate tables from one user to another user.