Unanswered: Conditional Statements in Access 2000

Hi,

I'm new to Microsoft Access and so this might probably be a v.basic question.

I'd basically like to do the following using simple queries (hopefully without the hassle of going into VB which I don't know !) :

IF (Record based on a primary key exists)
    then
    Update a particular field as follows : new entry=current entry + incre
    else
    Create new record with that primary key;
    Set corresponding field = incre
    Endif

I'd appreciate if you could provide me with some detailed info, and if it means going into VB or something similar, how I can start ! BTW, the database table (for a start) will simply consist of two columns : the first column being the primary key and the second the field I'd like to update.

Thanks !

Provided Answers: 1
    This sounds a little wacky... could you describe a bit more detail about what you hope to accomplish here? My knee-jerk reaction is this may introduce some nasty integrity issues with keys being incremented using arbitrary seeds...
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Hi,

Our receptionist basically compiles (at the end of each month) a list of outgoing telephone calls and the charge levied on that call. For a start, I'd like her to be able to enter the tel number and corresponding charge. If a record exists for that particular number then of course the new charge should be added to whatever is in that corresponding field. If the record does not exist, it then should simply be created.

BTW, there'll probaby a third field to indicate who in the firm made that outgoing call. Eventually I'd like to be able create a fourth field which will indicate who the owner of the called number is - we have an Excel Spreadsheet mapping our clients with their corresponing tel number.

Hope this makes clear my motivation.

Thanks !
    Last edited by trend05; 02-01-05 at 02:16.