Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

relationships between individuals in a family tree (was "simple design question")

Hi, I am working on designing a website/database for (my families) family tree project. I will probably be using mySQL and PHP, I have some limited experience of setting up a membership and content management type database but I'm no expert.

I haven't actually got all the data yet (the research is an ongoing labour of love by my uncle) but it's a fairly complex web. Of course the actual size is pretty small overall in relation to most databases, just a few hundred records, but its large enough that there is sense in making the site data-driven.

I've been having some problems with what I think should be very simple! That is namely how best to store the relationships between individuals.

This is what I've got so far, parent-child and sibling-sibling realtionships can be deduced by reference to just the People table.
    (and what are the parentone_ID/parenttwo_ID keys called? are they foreign keys or maybe 'recursive' keys??)

Code:
    People
    ---------------------
    person_ID      INT  (PK)
    parentone_ID   INT   ('FK' - personID)
    parenttwo_ID   INT   ('FK' - personID)
    first_name     VARCHAR
    middle_names   VARCHAR
    last_name      VARCHAR
    maiden_name    VARCHAR
    nick_names     VARCHAR
    date_birth     VARCHAR
    place_birth    VARCHAR
    date_death     VARCHAR
    place_death    VARCHAR
    mediapath      VARCHAR  *relative url to folder with various media/docs.
    The Marriages table seperately records marriages.

Code:
    Marriages
    ----------------
    marriage_ID      INT   (PK)
    spouseone_ID     INT   (FK - personID)
    spousetwo_ID     INT   (FK - personID)
    place_marriage   VARCHAR
    date_marriage    VARCHAR
    date_divorce     VARCHAR
    mediapath        VARCHAR

Is this a robust design?