Unanswered: Enter Parameter Value

(I am a noob btw) I have created a query, and in the criteria box, i have type:

[Username?]

when the query is ran, i see the title of the search box is: "Enter Parameter Value", is there a way i can change this to something a little more user friendly?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by slice16
    (I am a noob btw) I have created a query, and in the criteria box, i have type:

[Username?]

when the query is ran, i see the title of the search box is: "Enter Parameter Value", is there a way i can change this to something a little more user friendly?

Thanks
    Imo, use forms to let ppl enter values. Queries are best used (as far as I know, I'm noobish too ) as method to select data from already existing data in a table/db.
    You could make a nice, userfriendly form to let ppl enter data, then make some big-ass "search"-button they can press et voila :P

But maybe I should ask, what do you want to do in the first place?

Parameter

If you're getting the popup box [Enter Parameter Value] then something is wrong with your query. If in your query you have something like (for the field row) UserName: [UserName?] then you should be prompted with a popup box that says UserName? not [Enter Parameter Value].

If what your looking for is the username in your query and don't want it to prompt, you can try doing something like this:

UserName: =getuser() and have a function like this in a module:

Function GetUser() As String
    Dim strSQL As String
    '** Procedure to Get the User's Name from the Windows Login
    Dim si As SystemInfo
    Set si = New SystemInfo
    Dim strOut As String
    'strGetUser = si.UserName
    'strOut = si.UserName & " is logged into " & si.ComputerName
    GetUser = si.UserName
    If GetUser = "" Then
    MsgBox ("There is a problem with your Network Login Name!! Please contact your Network Administrator.")
    DoCmd.Quit
    End If
    End Function