Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Restore problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    76

    Unanswered: Restore problem

    I am working with version 8.1 fixpack 7a on Windows 2000 and am having a problem restoring from a prod backup over on my test server.

    I get this error:

    SQL2514N The RESTORE was not successful. The backup used to restore the database contained a database with a release number that is not compatible with the installed version of the database manager

    Even though both instances are 8.1 and same fix pack, same version stamps:

    sql08020 03010106 8.1.7.664 S040914 WR21342 fix pack 7

    Has anyone seen this, or why would it think the db managers are at different levels.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    What is the db2level and OS version of both systems?

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    76

    levels

    both are windows 2000, 5.00.2195 SP4


    both are fixpack 7a same stamps:
    code release SQL08020
    level identifier 03010106
    tokens: 8.1.7.664 S04914 WR21342

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Looks like you need to contact IBM support on this.

    Andy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    76

    support

    I suspected as much, thought I'd see if anyone had seen it. Thanks for the help, I'll post again when I get it resolved with IBM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    138
    any chance that you didn't update instance on one of these machines after the fp upgrade?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    76

    instance update

    Definitely a chance. Even more since the dba that did the original install of the fix pack is not working here anymore. I will try to do the update command. IBM recommended re-installing the fix pack , but I like your idea first.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    76

    instance

    We had something wrong with our instance. Update still would not work, but when I created a new instance, the restore worked fine, no problem. Since it is test, I'm going to just use the new instance, delete the old one and move on.


    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by chavadb2
    any chance that you didn't update instance on one of these machines after the fp upgrade?
    Same bit#?

    as you know we can not restore from 32 bit to 64 bit

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    According to the 8.2 manual you can:

    You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit 3 Windows platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Windows platform, or the reverse. 3 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit Linux (Intel) 3 platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Linux (Intel) platform, or the reverse. 3 You can restore databases created on DB2 Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or the Solaris Operating Environment 3 platforms, in 32-bit or 64-bit, to DB2 Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or Solaris Operating Environment platforms 3 (32-bit or 64-bit).

    7 The restore utility can also be used to restore backup images that were 7 produced on a previous version of DB2 (up to two versions earlier) as long 7 as the word size (32-bit or 64-bit) is the same. 7 Cross-platform restore operations from a backup image created with 7 a previous version of DB2 are not supported. 7 If a migration 7 is required, it will be invoked automatically at the end of the restore operation.

    Andy

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    76

    bit size

    In our case, both instances were windows 32 bit.

    It seemed though to be something specific to the original test instance but no problem with a newly created one

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •