Question Unanswered: DLookup's, Drop Boxes, Forms, and Confusion

I'm very new to access, and I'm designing a contacts database for the company I work for. I have two combo boxes on the form - Country & StateOrProvince. In order to make data entry easier, I've managed to set it up so that Country is stored in a drop box which displays a list of all countries that have been entered so far, as well as letting you input new ones.

I would like to set up a similar thing with the StateOrProvince dropbox. HOWEVER, I only want it to display values that have been entered for the particular country selected on the form - so, if you select USA on the Country dropbox, it would display a list of previously entered US states on the StateOrProvince box. If you selected China for the country, the StateOrProvince box would show previously entered Chinese provinces, and so on.

I've tried to do this using DLookup, and I can't get it to work.

SELECT DISTINCT [StateOrProvince] FROM Contacts WHERE Country=DLookup("Country","Contacts","ContactID=" & ContactID);

I've tried many variations on the above, but I think my problem may be that DLookup looks at a value in a table rather than a value in a form.

Does anyone know of any (relatively uncomplicated) way to do this?

Cheers,
    Daniel

try something like this in _AfterUpdate of the first combo

dim strSQL as string
    strSQL = "SELECT tblStates.StateID, tblStates.StateOrProvince FROM tblStates "
    strSQL = strSQL & "WHERE tblStates.CountryID = " & Me!firstCombo & ";"
    secondCombo.rowsource = strSQL
    secondCombo.requery

izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

i worry a little about your tables having seen the way you are building the Dlookup(). methinks you should have something like:

tblCountry:
    CountryID, auto, PK
    strCountry, text

tblStates:
    StateID, auto, PK
    CountryID, FK on tblCountry
    strState, text

tblXxxxxx
    XxxxxID, auto, PK
    StateID, FK on tblStates

izy