Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Rescuing an MDE file...

I've done a right balls up today.

Aside from having the backup of my mde file on a server, which crashed this morning, i now need to get the source code out of the mde file in some way, shape or form.

Unfortunately i just moved the mdb file onto the server about an hour or so before it crashed, and obviously a backup of the server hadn't been made at that time, so i've lost the original.

So far i've managed to get the tables and the forms out of it, but if anyone has discovered a way to reverse engineer an mde file to get the queries and modules out of it i'd really appreciate it if i could be told.

Hi, I'm no expert on the subject, but as far as I know...an MDE file does not have the source code in it...that's what makes it so much more secure than an MDB file...I'm not sure if you can get the modules or queries out of it...but I'm pretty sure you'll have no luck getting the source code back...

Hi,

Every server, runs with 2 or more harddisks, for prevent data lost. The data that are being recorded in one hardisk is the same that are being recorded in the others. This is called RAID disks with hot plugg. This is also used to take off and put a new disk without stopping the server. Suppose that a disk doesn't work, crashed for no reason, you can take off the disk with the server working, send it to your supplier, and when you receive the new one, all you have to do is to put it in the server, wich automatically will copy all the data that are in the remaining harddisk to the new one.

So it is probably that your information is safe. All you have to do is recover the harddisks.

Provided Answers: 59
    IF, and lets hope its true, that your server is using a RAID configuration, but then if it was would you notice the disk crash in the first place

Not all servers are born (or should that read configured) equal, some ahve RAID, some have redundancy some are just boxes.