Unanswered: Selecting a record in a multi-user environment

Just a little question related to a db that I might have to build.

Since I started coding with VBA and Access, I only had to build small applications that were only used by 1, 2 or 3 users at the same time and I always used replication for my multi-user systems. But now i have to build a system that could have up to 35-40 users simultaneously in peak periods.

My problem is I'd like to know how to select a record from a table without flagging a field in a table. In other words, lets say that you have a table for clients, and another table for orders. All orders are linked to a client found in the Client table. How is it possible to select a client, show its information, while at the same time showing only this clients' specific orders. Also adding and deleting records in the orders table while browsing a client's info must be possible. All of this in a multi user environment.

Usually, when I face this kind of problem in a single user environment I use a boolean field as a selecting flag. And use a couple update queries in a macro to select records in all tables. Though this way, it is impossible to use multi user environment if not using replication... And I hate replication.

I know there must be a better way to do it, plz help me!!!

Thank in advance!

I think you are going to get alot of people telling you not to do this project in Access. You can use it for the front end, but I think you will need something more robust for the back end. I personally have not created an application that 40 people would be using. I am creating one now that about 10 people might be using and I am concerned about whether Access is the right tool.

As far as your specific question about setting a flag to select a record, I am not sure I understand what you are trying to do. Are you marking records that need to be deleted? Because Access is a Multi User environment.