Unanswered: Copying data from table 1 to table 2

This may be really simple but I just can't figure it out. Following is what I am trying to do:

Form1
    Field - InspectionID - autonumber

Form2
    Field - InspectionID - text

I want to have a button on Form1 that opens Form2 and automatically takes the data from the InspectionID field on Form1 and enters it in the InspectionID field on Form2.

I have tried everything that I can think of and can't get it to work. Granted, I am no Access expert. Just trying to teach myself as I go.

You're trying to put an autonumber type (long integer) into a text field, which is probably the problem you're having.

You can put this in the OnOpen event of form2, it'll convert the autonumber to text (string)...

Me!InspectionID = Str(Forms!Form1!InspectionID)

Good luck

Chris

Edit: You mentioned you're new to access...and this scenario sounds like you may not have a good table/relationship structure. Normally you wouldn't store redundant data in 2 tables. There's about a billion posts here on normalization. Or if InspectionID in Form2 is a foreign key, consider changing the data type to long integer. Sorry if I'm off base here.
    Last edited by cpgospi; 02-11-05 at 12:28. Reason: Addition

cpgospi,

thanks for the response and I will try this, most likely this afternoon. Also, I am new but do understand what you are saying. Unfortunately, I am working with a DB that was created by someone else and has a lot of data already in it. I am trying to fix things quickly with what I have to work with. I may end up starting from scratch, doing things correctly though if I can't get beyond some of these problems I keep encountering.

Again, thanks for your help. I'll respond with the results.

Landon

Talking

lab-one Landon[/QUOTE]

Hi Landon and "Welcome to the Forum"