Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    38

    Unanswered: Line Breaks in Oracle FORMS 10g

    Hey guys,
    Here's one for you. We generate an email through an Oracle form. The message of the email is stored in a Column along with the Subject, email address, etc..

    The problem I'm having is breaking up the message. It just groups everything together. I'd like to have line breaks similiar to HTML breaks like <BR>.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Todd
    Todd Farino
    Timet Corporation
    todd.farino@timet.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    565
    Do linefeeds not work? Or formatting the message as HTML? What have you tried?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    38
    The emial is sent from a package through a SMTP connection. The guys here at TIMET wrote it before I got here. Right now I can manipulate it before I goes to the "Queue", but that's about it. Can you format it HMTL easily. I'd love to try that. Any other ideas?
    Right now the message of the email looks like this:

    The following result have been reported and flagged as Out-of-Spec. Process Order TF2001 for sample 785231 has a current result ( Al ) flagged.

    I'd like it to look like this:

    The following result have been reported and flagged as Out-of-Spec:
    Process Order: TF2001
    Sample: 785231
    Test Code : AL
    Result: 6.7

    Thanks,
    Todd
    Todd Farino
    Timet Corporation
    todd.farino@timet.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    If you're the one who fills this column with data, you could try this:

    INSERT INTO your_table (this_column) values
    (subject || chr(10) ||
    e_mail_address || chr(10) ||
    whatever);

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1
    Can We Use Report Engine To Generate The Report In Paper Layout In 10g At Runtime Through Forms. Is There Any Way Out. Let Me Know?
    Urgent Help Required

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    If I understood the question, the answer is NO (as far as I can tell).

    It is not possible to create a report using Reports Developer "offline" (i.e. without a person who would actually create a report, even though the Report Wizard is involved in the process).

    However: you might open Reports Developer and then create a report - to do that, investigate use of the HOST built-in. Though, I don't see how this would improve the business as your end-users probably won't know how to create a report.

    Therefore, perhaps Discoverer might be a choice for you:
    Quote Originally Posted by Oracle
    OracleBI Discoverer is an intuitive ad-hoc query, reporting, analysis, and Web publishing toolset that gives business users immediate access to information in databases.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •