Question Advice for stand alone database (functional on desktop without server)

Please help.

I would like to create a database, but with in mind that it should run on a standalone PC.
    So I should have access to the data locally, without the need to have a connection to internet or any kind of server.
    Finally I would like it to distribute it on CD/DVD, and don’t want users to force that they have some special software on the Computer before they can use the data base I created.
    Some self-installing program / viewer that is on the CD/DVD with the database I like to distribute, is of course acceptable.

Sorry for the bad English, but I’m from the Netherlands… (Sorry for that too )

I’m a novice, so what DB program do you advise?

Thanks,

A lot depends on whether you are develping for a single operating system such as Windows or Linux, or if you want to allow many different operating systems from a single distribution CD. Supporting one operating system is easy, supporting two is much more difficult, supporting more than two is only an incremental step more difficult than two.

To translate this into everyday terms... Developing an application for one operating system is like trying to push a car. Developing for two is like trying to push a bus with two people on it, while developing for six operating systems is like trying to push the same bus with six people on it. Developing for a single operating system is much easier than multiple operating systems.

A large part of the decision of what tool(s) to use depends on what you intend to do with them. Some tasks are much more demanding than others, and they require more sophisticated tools which require considerably more effort to learn. It would help me a lot to understand at least the rough idea of what you intend to do, since that will greatly affect the type of tool you'll need to do it.