Unanswered: What I thought was a simple project...

I have to make an Access form which serves as a questionnaire at a sales kiosk. Time and complexity are issues for the client, as they are for me since I'm no Access expert.

This questionnaire will ask for the standard stuff - name, address, phone, etc.

Then it asks for a lot of demographic info. Some of these are in drop-down lists, others are just checkboxes.

For instance, a question might be: "What outdoor activities do you enjoy?", then there might be 20(!) checkboxes. Another might be: "What are the ages of the adults in your residence?". This would have a drop down box with the choices.

Once the form is completed, the data is saved, a new unfilled form appears, and a copy is printed out. The printout is the most important use of the data at this time.

One problem I've run into already is that Access forms handle checkboxes differently than I'm used to. I was hoping to simply have multiple checkboxes store different values in the same table field, i.e. if a person checks "Basketball" and "Tiddlywinks" and "Golf", then those would be stored in the "personalInterests" field, but I see that's not going to work.

Pointers or guidance, anyone?

What does your table structure look like? It should be something like:

tblCustomer
    CustID
    CustName
    CustAddress

tblInterest
    InterestID
    IntersestDesc

tblCustInterests
    CustID
    InterestID

For each checkbox selected, you would add another record to the CustInterests table.
    Inspiration Through Fermentation

That's what I was afraid of! OK, working on it now.

Quote Originally Posted by btwnc
    I have to make an Access form which serves as a questionnaire at a sales kiosk. Time and complexity are issues for the client, as they are for me since I'm no Access expert.