Thread: asp into mysql

Unanswered: asp into mysql

All,
    I am new to all this, so please be patient with me. I have established a connection with my MySQL database using ASP, but now I want to get data into the database via an .asp form.

The connection code I have inside regForm.asp is:

<%

ConnString = "Driver={MySQL};SERVER=localhost;DATABASE=database name;UID=uid;PASSWORD=password"
    Set Conn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    Conn.Open ConnString

%>

What do I need to do to have data populate the MySQL table when the submit button on the form is clicked?

I guess I need to code to add a new record to my table in mysql. Can someone please help with the code for this?

I have replaced the actual real info in the code above with generic stuff.

Please help.

Thanks in advance,

In your submit_Form.Asp
    you have to open database connection and execute INSERT query on it..

for example,

Dim Conn, insertSQL

Conn.Open connectionString
    If Conn.State = 1 Then
    insertSQL = "INSERT INTO tableXYZ VALUES (" & var1 &", " & var2 & ")"
    Conn.Execute insertSQL
    Conn.Close
    End If

Set Conn = Nothing

Hope this will help...

jay82,
    This is the code I ended up using:

<%
    ConnString = "Driver={MySQL};SERVER=localhost;DATABASE=gsgevent s;UID=gsgevents;PASSWORD=mollycollie"
    Conn.Open ConnString

mySQL = "INSERT INTO tbl_registration (dateEntered,salutation,first_lastName,company,mai lingAddress,city,state,zipCode,telephoneNo,faxNo,e mailAddress,xMeal,hotelYesNo,arrivalDate,departure Date,roomType,bedSize,sharingRoomYesNo,roomMate,to talInRoom,creditCardType,creditCardNo,cardHoldersN ame,expDate)"