Unanswered: reading Unix files from Access

I'm new to Access programming, and need to read in some data from a (largish) Unix file.
    My code needs help with Unix delimiters.
    The input file is Tab-delimited.

Delim = Chr(9)
    Open InputFile For Input As #1
    Set db = CurrentDb
    Set rst = db.OpenRecordset(TargetTable)
    Do Until EOF(1)
    Line Input #1, InpString
    FVals = Split(InpString, Delim)
    rst.AddNew
    For i = 0 To rst.Fields.Count - 1
    rst.Fields(i) = FVals(i)
    Next
    rst.Update
    Loop
    rst.Close

Thanks in advance...

Provided Answers: 59
    the problem is going to be how you instruct the application to interpret the end of line character

rather than using readln perhaps you should look at read and examine each character to see if its a UNIX end of line delimiter

have a look at the streamreadenum & streamread function

I think you can specify what the end of line character is in the stream function - never tried it myself, but I seem to rememeber that it will handle these sort of problems.

Before you go and write your own import, I would take a look at the Import Wizard that comes with Access. It will handle a tab delimited file. Essentially you link to the file and then use it like a table. Or if you would rather, you can import the entire file into a new table. To get started, go to File/Get External Data and choose Import or Link Tables. Then the Import Wizard comes up. You can hit the Advanced button and name each field and tell Access the type of data in each field. Then save the File Specification and use it later in code. To use it in code look into the TransferText method of the DoCmd object.

Sadly the Import way does not work for me, as the file concerned has approx 60 lines of Header banff, preventing Access doing that ol' delimiter magic.
    Also, I need to do a whole lot of other stuff as well, which Macros do not handle....