Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    19

    Question Unanswered: Command to Move entire database from Oracle 9i

    I am trying to move database from Oracle 9i . I need a command so i don't have to create new user on new machine.. I jst wana basically move the entire databse. So i'll be able to copy all the users and tables.

    any suggestion???


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    39
    If I understand you question : You want to move database from once server to other server.
    There is no single command for doing this.
    - Shutdown database
    - take a full cold backup (os-unix level) including init.ora/spfile
    - and copy this backup to new server
    - and start new database
    - On windows : you will have to create service using oradim before starting database

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Or, if you already have installed a database on the new computer (but it's "empty") (it's just my guess, as you said you don't want to create new USER, not the database), you could do it using full database EXPORT / IMPORT utilities.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    19
    Anyone knows where can i find import/export detailed instructions..

    thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Go to google (or any internet search engine) & type in:

    import export oracle

    & you'll get a list of loads of sites that will explain sytanx, procedures, pitfalls etc
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    19
    Thanks


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    116
    TOAD has a great import/export utility..maybe u should check it out..
    U can easily use the wizards in TOAD to export and importyour entire databse

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    42
    You can also use RMAN to do a database cloning:

    http://www.orafaq.com/faq/RDBMS_Serv...RMAN/faq51.htm

    If you're looking for a way to do it with no downtime, I always set the second machine up as a standby database utilizing dataguard, then did a switchover so there is no downtime. It's pretty easy to do; if you want to know how just let me know.
    Steven Karam
    Oracle 10g Certified Master
    Web: OrclDBA.com
    Email: steve@orcldba.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •