Thread: Default Value?

Unanswered: Default Value?

I am a complete rookie here, and creating a simple MS Access DB.

I would like to set up a field in my form to have a defualt value based on the entry into the field from a previous record.

In other words if in record 2 my "date" field was 12/12/2004, I want it so that the default value for the "date" field in record 3 is 12/12/2004.

Is this possible, and if so would anyone mind giving me a tip.

To me it seems I would have to use the expresion builder, however the books I have help me very little.

Cheers.

Provided Answers: 59
    There's been a question very similar to this recently, not sure of the reference, but it was on this forum.

Yes, what you want can be done, but it isn't going to be easy and straightforward, and I'm not sure it would be soemthing that an Access newbie might want to do - depends on your experience and comfort at writing some code to work behid the scenes of 'standard' Access

In the after update event procedure of the control in question (code, not expression, I'm afraid), enter something like this

me!txtNameOfControl.DefaultValue = "#" & me!txtNameOfControl.Value & "#"

- replace txtNameOfControl with the actual name of your control (it better not be Date, which is a reserved word)
    Roy-Vidar

Quote Originally Posted by RoyVidar
    In the after update event procedure of the control in question (code, not expression, I'm afraid), enter something like this

me!txtNameOfControl.DefaultValue = "#" & me!txtNameOfControl.Value & "#"

- replace txtNameOfControl with the actual name of your control (it better not be Date, which is a reserved word)
    I am most likely doing something stupidly wrong but this is the code I ve been inputing, but alas without getting the desired result

Option Compare Database
    Option Explicit

Private Sub RadarStationID_AfterUpdate()

Me!RadarStationID.DefaultValue = "#" & Me!RadarStationID.Value & "#"

End Sub

Suggestions?