Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    202

    Unanswered: Pro-long Session timeout

    Hi there,

    Got a question here.............
    how do i set in ASP code to prolong session timeout like to 10 minutes more or so.
    Thanx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    Code:
    Session.Timeout [=nMinutes]
    I think you can set it anywhere, but the Session OnStart event in the global.asa is probably a good idea

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    202
    Hi and thanx for your quick reply...

    U mean i set it like this
    Session.Timeout = 15
    ???


    **15 = 15 minutes

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    yup, exactly like that.... I'm not sure because I couldn't see anything on it, but I believe there is an iis setting that can affect things as well. Looking into that now...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    In IIS under the properties for the Web Site, in the Home Directory tab there is a button called Configuration. Clicking that will open the application configuration window. On this window is another tab labels Options. In this tab you can also set the Session timeout. I think IIS will override anything you do in script be I can't be sure.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    202
    Hi rokslide,

    Thanx a lot.
    This is wat i'm looking for..........hehe
    Thanx a lot again
    Appreciate ur help

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    No problems, glad to have the time and opportunity to help, work here is boring me to tears so....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    202
    HI again.......

    Bother you again..............hehe...............
    when u say "In IIS under the properties for the Web Site,"
    where do u refer to?
    Sorry ya..............kinda dumb in this thing.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    Okie to manage IIS I use the standard MMC.

    To open that I right click on "My Computer" on the desktop, and select Manager. This opens the MMC.

    You can then scroll down to Services and Applications and expand that. This will show IIS which can be expanded, and web sites which can be expanded. You can then right click on the website and click properties and you should be all go....

    If you want to discuss this via MSN drop me a private message here with your id.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    202
    Hi,

    Thanx a lot...............manage to get it...........
    Say..............i would really like to chat with u tru the net but for me i have only
    yahoo messenger as my place here disable out our MSN...................
    Perhaps u have Yahoo Messenger there?

    Anyway thanx again for your help.
    Really appreciate it

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    How have they disabled msn? It can use HTTP to send everything so providing you can browse you should be able to use MSN. Unfortunately I don't have Yahoo. I have ICQ, but two clients are enough for me. I know I should really get a client that does everything but I haven't had time to find one I like so....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    202
    I'm not quite sure how they disable it but as far as i know...........
    they control it tru powerful firewall.........................

    That is how i think they blocked it.
    Anyway, i try install ICQ and perhaps u can give me ur ID
    Thanx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •