Unanswered: tables and keys for user bookmarks database (was "Pretty basic DB design problem")

I'm a newbie to databases - well, large ones anyway.

I'm trying to design a database (in MySQL) which stores 'bookmarks' for users in a hierachical fashion. I've figured out how to do that for one person (adjacency list, in one table). So for multiple users, I have one table to store user details - and one table for each user (named user_<username>).

My question is, is that a dumb way of designing a database - having one table for each user? Will I encounter problems? Certainly phpMyAdmin might struggle with thousands of tables.

Obviously, I could place all the tables into one, and have a 'username' field and to a 'WHERE username=...' but that would be horribly inefficent wouldn't it? I'm expecting possibly thousands of users...

I'd rather have it as one table though, since if I add a field at the moment I'd have to change ALL the tables (except users table, of course).

Is there a smarter way of doing it, instead of having a table for each user?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

James.

Quote Originally Posted by dcs3jah
    My question is, is that a dumb way of designing a database - having one table for each user?
    yes, it is (but please note, you chose the adjective, i didn't )

Quote Originally Posted by dcs3jah
    Obviously, I could place all the tables into one, and have a 'username' field and to a 'WHERE username=...' but that would be horribly inefficent wouldn't it?
    no, it wouldn't -- declare an index on username
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Thanks

Thanks for your help.

I did think of the 'index' option - I should have mentioned it in my question. I suspected that that was less efficient that separate tables - but you've just shown how little I know about databases. Damn, I did a course on databases when I was at university - this shows how little I remember...

Thanks again.