Question Unanswered: Cursors set with isolation levels

Hi all

I am new to DB2,

came across the following cursor syntax and i ve some doubts in cursor and isolation levels.. cud any one pls clarify me on this...

DECLARE RSLT_CUR CURSOR FOR SELECT * FROM test FOR READ ONLY WITH RR ;

i suppose the RR here defines some isolation level (repeatable read)

cud any one clarify me
    1. does this statement holds any lock on the table specified in the select statement (test)?
    if so when will the lock be released ?
    if not how the isolation is maintained ?

2. if i did not specify any isolation level there in the statement, how the system will act now
    ie., what is the default isolation locking in the DB2?
    How do we access this from command line or is it just a setting in sql.ini file etc.

How do we change isolation level for entire db2 server i.e. administrative server db2admin, for a particular instance and a particular database in an instance and transactions while connected to a database.

3. i would like to know how the select statement in the cursor is evaluated..?
    does the DB2 evaluates the select statement and uses a temp. table to store the results
    or it evaluates each time when the Fetch command is issued ...

4) Is it true that by setting lowest isolation level i.e. uncommited read, we reduce chances of unreleased locks and deadlocks. ?

Thanks in advance
    Sathya
    Last edited by sathyav; 03-03-05 at 07:25.

1. RR will hold share locks on all the rows accessed. The share locks will be released when the next commit takes place (either explicit or because of auto-commit).

2. The default is CS. Here is information about setting it in the CLI interface:

TXNISOLATION

Keyword Description:
    Set the default isolation level.

db2cli.ini Keyword Syntax:
    TXNISOLATION = 1 | 2 | 4 | 8 | 32

Default Setting:
    Read Committed (Cursor Stability)

DB2 CLI/ODBC Settings Tab:
    Transaction

Only Applicable when: