Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    217

    Unanswered: Oracle replication

    I have set master-master replication. But the records are not getting replicated. What things do i need to check?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    42
    Check to make sure records are getting in your DEFTRAN and DEFTRANDEST to get replicated. Make sure your tables have been properly added to replication groups.

    Of course, I'm used to 8i replication (last I've used). Pretty sure this part should be the same in higher versions.
    Steven Karam
    Oracle 10g Certified Master
    Web: OrclDBA.com
    Email: steve@orcldba.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greenville, SC (USA)
    Posts
    1,155
    Ensure you dblinks are stepup properly, ie, public and private.
    Ensure your jobs are ok and set to run at a specified interval (if not
    what are the failures ... check the log files for explanation)
    Check the alterlog to see if there is anything there with an error.

    If you try to run the "Push" job manually thru sql, what do you get ?

    (log on as the owner ... repadmin ??)
    sql> execute dbms_job.run(jobnumber);

    More info is needed

    Gregg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    217
    The DEFTRAN and DEFTRANDEST tables are empty why is that?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greenville, SC (USA)
    Posts
    1,155
    These tables contain the data and order to replicate. They could be empty
    because, 1) the purge job ran and everything within these tables had already been sent to the destination db, 2) there is nothing being entered into the tables that are to be replicated, 3) replication has not been setup properly.

    Did you setup replication thru the GUI ??? Do you see the replicated tables
    in the Multimaster Replication section of the GUI ??

    Gregg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greenville, SC (USA)
    Posts
    1,155
    Other thoughts:

    I'm guessing that you did run CATREP.SQL procedure in the 1st place.
    Are all objects valid ?
    sql> select object_name,object_type from all_objects where status <> 'VALID';

    Are you running everything to create the replicated environment from the MASTER DEFINITION site ?

    When you try to add additional master databases, did you quiesce the replication group, add new master database, regenerate replication support,
    put rep group back online ?

    Gregg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    217
    1. select object_name,object_type from all_objects where status <> 'VALID';
    -- The above SQL is not returning anything.
    2. what is CATREP.SQL ?
    3. Are you running everything to create the replicated environment from the MASTER DEFINITION site ?
    -- yes
    4. I have created replication using the book - Replication Management API Reference chapter 2
    5. I have not used GUI to setup the replication? Is there any article on this?

    Is there any article ...about how to solve replication problems step by step..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greenville, SC (USA)
    Posts
    1,155
    The book you are using is a good reference...
    Look at the following procedures and their parameters...
    --- All run from the MasterDef site ...

    DBMS_REPCAT.CREATE_MASTER_REPOBJECT
    dbms_repcat.generate_replication_support
    DBMS_REPCAT.ADD_MASTER_DATABASE

    Ensure that you have defined anonymous public db link FROM MASTER TO MASTER
    and
    private db link (from REPADMIN) From master to master
    And (replicated schema if needed)
    Also check to ensure you INITxxx.ora parameters are set (use your own values)

    GLOBAL_NAMES=TRUE
    JOB_QUEUE_INTERVAL=30 # Every 30 seconds
    JOB_QUEUE_PROCESSES=4 # Number of jobs that run simultaneously

    Also, for what it's worth ... I found that the following indexes and table will
    extend significantly (Oracle8 ... don't worry if using local management)

    alter table sys.source$ storage (next 1m);
    alter INDEX sys.i_source1 storage (next 1m);
    ALTER TABLE SYSTEM.DEF$_AQCALL STORAGE (NEXT 5m);

    CATREP.SQL - Should be run from the sysdba priv account. It builds the Oracle internals for replication.

    Once you have replication setup and gen'ed, you make a modification to a
    table, you will see a row in deftran and deftrandest table. defcall will contain each row for the transaction.

    HTH
    Gregg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •