Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    271

    Unanswered: Can't access Database

    I had a problem, I have been accessing my database for weeks... then the database I was trying to get in MyDocuments, gave me an error message that said It can't access the database WorkOrder.mdb.
    The only resolution was to move it into Shared Documents. It has worked fine for 2 weeks... Now we can't access it.
    What could be wrong???
    It will access the other 3 databases in Shared Documents?????

    Please any help is greatly appreciated,
    Michael
    Gotta to do some code

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,941
    I know this is probably a stupid question, but...

    What happens if you move it to yet another location?
    Is it a secured database? Maybe the problem is with the workgroup file.
    Inspiration Through Fermentation

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    271

    I know this is probably a stupid question, but...

    What happens if you move it to yet another location?
    Is it a secured database? Maybe the problem is with the workgroup file.
    I can move it to another location and it will probably work. I will go do that, but if I have to do this every couple of weeks, this seems dumb?

    How can I tell if the workgroup file is the culprit?

    Michael
    Gotta to do some code

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,941
    If you're not using security, then the workgroup file isn't the problem.

    When you moved it from My Documents to Shared Documents, did you have to create (or join) a new workgroup?
    Inspiration Through Fermentation

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    271
    No not at all.

    Let me give this food for thought. The compter where the file is located used to be a windows 98 system that you logged onto each day, this put you on the network workgroup. Now the computer is has Windows XP and we don't log on, it just opens to the main page. Could this be an issue? Same versions of Access, that didn't change?

    Thank You,
    Michael
    Gotta to do some code

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,941
    Sorry, I'm stumped.

    Maybe the other computer(s) that are accessing are a differenct version of Windows?

    Is the file corrupted or locked? Exactly what message are you getting when you try to open it?
    Inspiration Through Fermentation

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    271
    Maybe the other computer(s) that are accessing are a differenct version of Windows?

    Is the file corrupted or locked? Exactly what message are you getting when you try to open it?
    Yes some are differnt versions of Windows, But they work fine for awhile... then they don't

    The file opens fine on the computer where the file is located. I can open it fine and it works fine. No messages when I open it from the computer the file is on??

    ANy ideas?
    Michael
    Gotta to do some code

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Inverurie
    Posts
    628
    Have you thought about exporting the data to another access database created on the other machine. It might actually decide to work out that way.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    271
    OK
    I have 2 Folders on the Computer where the file is stored:
    Folder 1 = Shared Documents
    Folder 2 = SSDatabases

    All I did was move the file from one folder to the other, and I can open the file with no problem.
    What is going on????? Anytime it doesn't work, I'll just move the file... That seems dumb?

    Any ideas what could be up?
    Michael

    ps. Cruikshanks, I may end up doing that in the long run.
    Gotta to do some code

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,941
    I'm thinking this isn't an Access problem, but is a network problem.

    Is it possible that different users are logging into the other computer(s), and they don't have the correct permissions to access the folders on the first computer?
    Inspiration Through Fermentation

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    271
    I am not sure? I set up small business network with all the defaults. There is not a server, we just share and print from computer to computer.

    I am not sure what I can do?

    Michael
    Gotta to do some code

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •