Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11

    Unanswered:

    Hello

    I have abit of a problem, i am working on access 97 and when i tgry and load up two databases at once at error occurs. It says that C:\windows\system32\system.mdw cannot be used since already in use. I try it on another machine with access 97 and with the same databases and it works fie, anyone have any idea?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Find this file and see if there's an *.ldw file in the same location. If so, try opening the mdw file and run a compact/repair or try just deleting the *.ldw file if the compact/repair doesn't make it go away. (somehow this file has gotten corrupt.) - Make backups first.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11
    i couldnt find an ldw file in that folder, what else do you think will be causing the problem?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Perhaps back it up and create a new one. Since it's basically just a security file, you should be able to copy one from the working computer as well. Make a backup first though.

    You may also want to read up on Access Security and mdw files. All in all though, it sounds like the file got corrupt somehow.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11
    I will try copying and pasting the file from the working machine. but if that doesnt work, how do you create a new security file?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Copy the one from the working machine.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11
    Hi all,

    Copied the file(system but also tried security) from a working machine and then pasted it into a machine which didnt work and the problem still occurs. Any ideas?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Create a new mdw file (depending on your MSAccess version, either within MSAccess or using the WRKGADM.EXE file - ie. search for the WRKGADM.EXE file on your c: drive.)

    or re-install/repair MSAccess.

    Do you have 2 different versions of MSAccess installed on this computer?

    Using 97, I might consider upgrading to a newer version.

    Also, is it always the same 2 mdb files or just opening any 2 mdb's and you get the error when opening the 2nd mdb?
    Last edited by pkstormy; 08-29-08 at 22:03.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I don't think creating a new MDW will help if one that is working on machine B still fails on machine A, but it's worth a shot I guess.

    I wonder if it's something like a networking permissions issue?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    I agree with you StarTrekker. I was beginning to wonder if the mdw file was even the issue after re-reading the first post but since the error seemed to indicate the mdw file itself, checking on the permissions to the mdw file is a great idea by you.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11
    ill give that a go tonight and see what happens; but before they were just normal users, so why would this change? they shouldn't have to be admins to access a simple database should they?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    No. Wouldn't be much point if no-one but admins could access the database. Besides, it works on the other machine.

    It seems like an issue with accessing the file, not the file's content.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11
    It only works on one machine out of like 5 machines. The build of that machine is the same as the rest of the machines. i just dont understand what is wrong with the rest of the machines except that one.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    check the permissions on that file / directory. its possible your network trolls may have set read oly permisions in the system directory.

    also check the system.mdw file actually is present there.. its possible this is a spurious eror message from Access.

    also if you are on a network I'd expect the MDW file to be on a server directory, so each user shares the same MDW file.. makes maintaning the user permissions a lot easier
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Also, when utilizing an mdw with an mdb, you usually want to open the mdb like this (i.e. as a shortcut):

    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\MSACCESS.EXE" "E:\POS.mdb" /WRKGRP "E:\Secured.mdw"

    substitute the E: above with your network drive (or utilize the UNC name) where the mdb/mdw is located.

    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\MSACCESS.EXE" "\\server\sharedfolder\db.mdb" /WRKGRP "\\server\sharedfolder\Secured.mdw"
    Last edited by pkstormy; 09-01-08 at 14:06.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •