Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Unanswered: Just Installed - XP

    I just installed Apache on my XP machine at work, to add web front ends to an Access DB I'm working on.

    The Apache monitor is up and running and says it is good. I keep getting localhost is not a registered protocol error messages when I try to run it

    Anyone have clues?

    DBS4M

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Help Please

    Can I get some help?

    DBS4M

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    533
    Check the settings in your the httpd.conf file.
    http://216.21.229.98/manual/programs/

    Try using 'http://localhost:8080/'

    and then you should be able to request your first document via URL http://localhost/ (when you built and installed Apache as root or at least used the --without-confadjust option) or http://localhost:8080/ (when you built and installed Apache as a regular user). Then stop the server again by running:
    http://ads.register.com/manual/install.html

    Check the 'Servername' directive in the httpd.config file: see Item 10.
    http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/mis...#setservername

    I doubt this is the problem but Check your 'hosts' file in the windows directory see if there are any redirects for localhost. You should have one entry for localhost of.
    127.0.0.1 localhost

    try the local host IP:
    127.0.0.1

    If you can't find anything then try reinstalling and reconfigure.
    ~

    Bill

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by savbill
    Check the settings in your the httpd.conf file.
    http://216.21.229.98/manual/programs/

    Try using 'http://localhost:8080/'

    and then you should be able to request your first document via URL http://localhost/ (when you built and installed Apache as root or at least used the --without-confadjust option) or http://localhost:8080/ (when you built and installed Apache as a regular user). Then stop the server again by running:
    http://ads.register.com/manual/install.html

    Check the 'Servername' directive in the httpd.config file: see Item 10.
    http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/mis...#setservername

    I doubt this is the problem but Check your 'hosts' file in the windows directory see if there are any redirects for localhost. You should have one entry for localhost of.
    127.0.0.1 localhost

    try the local host IP:
    127.0.0.1

    If you can't find anything then try reinstalling and reconfigure.
    Don't have anything close to:

    'http://localhost:8080/'

    or

    'http://localhost:80/'

    in the .conf file. Tried running/calling with the 8080 and same result. Looked in Regedit and did a find on "localhost" and there are no entries.

    I guess that means re-install, right?

    DBS4M

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    533
    Quote Originally Posted by dbsupport4me
    I guess that means re-install, right?

    DBS4M
    It unusual most often you can search on an error message and find information related to the error. That's what I did but in this case didn't find anything specific to your problem. So it could be a problem with the install, a problem with the configuration, restrictions on your computer, or a conflict with another server running on the machine.

    If you checked for conflicts with possible programs / servers running, and you are reasonably sure it's not a permissions problem (do you have admin rights on the computer?) Then a re-install would be a logical next step. Be sure to fully uninstall your current installation and be sure to get a good install package.

    For a fast test you could download a copy of PortableWebApp and see if it will run. PWA includes Apache, PHP, Mysql packaged and configured to run, so if you can run from it you'll confirm the ability to run Apache on that computer. Make sure all other instances of Apache / Servers are turned off or PWA will not run properly.
    ~

    Bill

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Re-install did not work and no error messages.

    Here where I'm at:

    It unusual most often you can search on an error message and find information related to the error. That's what I did but in this case didn't find anything specific to your problem.
    There are no errors. Apache Monitor runs fine, but there is no localhost.

    We cleaned registry, disk, uninstalled, deleted, etc. and still nothing. PC support tech tried install on another machine, same make, model, OS and worked fine. Just not getting it to go.

    Find on Registry shows Apache but nothing on "LocalHost". I think it is not writing to the registry correctly to turn it on.

    DBS4M

    PS.

    127.0.0.1 does not work either.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    533
    Here's an extensive thread on Dev shed that may give you some leads on things to check. Apache problem on Localhost on Win xp

    * Check Windows 'hosts' file
    * Check httpd.config settings
    * Check firewall / virus check conflits. McAffee / Zone Alarm / Windows

    I have some reg entries set to localhost, but don't think this would be the cause, or the route to try?
    HKEY_USERS\...\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentV ersion\Internet Settings\ProxyOverride = localhost
    ~

    Bill

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Now Erroring

    Quote Originally Posted by savbill
    Here's an extensive thread on Dev shed that may give you some leads on things to check. Apache problem on Localhost on Win xp

    * Check Windows 'hosts' file
    * Check httpd.config settings
    * Check firewall / virus check conflits. McAffee / Zone Alarm / Windows

    I have some reg entries set to localhost, but don't think this would be the cause, or the route to try?
    HKEY_USERS\...\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentV ersion\Internet Settings\ProxyOverride = localhost
    Have no such registry entry, not even ProxyOverride. Is that significant?

    Now finally getting an error:

    [Tue Oct 04 08:10:01 2005] [error] (OS 10038)An operation was attempted on something that is not a socket. : Child 1064: Encountered too many errors accepting client connections. Possible causes: dynamic address renewal, or incompatible VPN or firewall software. Try using the Win32DisableAcceptEx directive.
    Error log quickly built to 12Gb so had to stop Apache Monitor and erase the original and restart AM but only for a few seconds so the file would stay small and editable.

    Maybe this helps!

    DBS4M
    Last edited by dbsupport4me; 10-04-05 at 10:32.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    533
    Quote Originally Posted by dbsupport4me
    operation was attempted on something that is not a socket
    I don't think the registry key is that significant. I think I'd look into network settings and TCP/IP settings. Search on the error message you posted and you get all kinds of hits related to TCP/IP Network settings. I'd look into this. Check out this Post on www.techzonez.com/forums Run the >ipconfig /renew command from the command window and see if you get a fail message. This would indicate Network/Firewall/TCP problems that may require reinstall/configuration of network TCP/IP. I'm just a hack in that area so can't give any precise steps.
    ~

    Bill

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    NetStat

    When I run netstat -an I get the following attached screenshot.

    I don't know what to look at for TCP/IP settings!

    Do you have any suggestions?

    From the screenshot you can see 127.0.0.1 is enabled, just not port 80 or 8080.

    I ran another check of registry using tcp/ip and it showed the nettcpip.inf file is where TCP/IP is initialized from.

    Is there something I need to add to this file?

    DBS4M
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails moz-screenshot.jpg  
    Last edited by dbsupport4me; 10-04-05 at 19:53.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    533
    This is what I have. Did you try "ipconfig /renew"? Get any error?
    Code:
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    
    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>netstat -an
    
    Active Connections
    
      Proto  Local Address          Foreign Address        State
      TCP    0.0.0.0:80             0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:135            0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:445            0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:1025           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:1026           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:1615           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:1617           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:1619           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:1620           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:3306           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:5000           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    0.0.0.0:38292          0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    127.0.0.1:25           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    127.0.0.1:110          0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    192.168.1.100:139      0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
      TCP    192.168.1.100:1619     209.18.100.200:80      CLOSE_WAIT
      TCP    192.168.1.100:1620     209.18.100.200:554     ESTABLISHED
      TCP    192.168.1.100:1777     206.65.174.94:80       TIME_WAIT
      TCP    192.168.1.100:1779     63.236.98.171:80       TIME_WAIT
      UDP    0.0.0.0:445            *:*
      UDP    0.0.0.0:500            *:*
      UDP    0.0.0.0:1028           *:*
      UDP    0.0.0.0:1031           *:*
      UDP    0.0.0.0:1032           *:*
      UDP    0.0.0.0:6970           *:*
      UDP    0.0.0.0:38037          *:*
      UDP    127.0.0.1:123          *:*
      UDP    127.0.0.1:1263         *:*
      UDP    127.0.0.1:1612         *:*
      UDP    127.0.0.1:1634         *:*
      UDP    127.0.0.1:1712         *:*
      UDP    127.0.0.1:1900         *:*
      UDP    192.168.1.100:123      *:*
      UDP    192.168.1.100:137      *:*
      UDP    192.168.1.100:138      *:*
      UDP    192.168.1.100:491      *:*
      UDP    192.168.1.100:1900     *:*
    ~

    Bill

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    533
    Check out this thread on www.php-editors.com forum
    And this one on devshed.com Forum

    Check the Listen Directive in the HTTPD.conf file. I have (comment out original and put 'Listen 80' just like this)
    #Listen 12.34.56.78:80
    Listen 80

    See if you can ping localhost and 127.0.0.1

    Try this directive in your httpd.conf file:
    Win32DisableAcceptEx
    add on a separate line near the top
    ~

    Bill

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by savbill
    Check out this thread on www.php-editors.com forum
    And this one on devshed.com Forum

    Check the Listen Directive in the HTTPD.conf file. I have (comment out original and put 'Listen 80' just like this)
    #Listen 12.34.56.78:80
    Listen 80

    See if you can ping localhost and 127.0.0.1

    Try this directive in your httpd.conf file:
    Win32DisableAcceptEx
    add on a separate line near the top
    SavBill,

    That was the default and since it did not work I commented it out and added:
    Code:
    Listen 127.0.0.1:80
    which also does not work.

    Any other ideas?

    DBS4M

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Progress

    All,

    Yesterday we finally got the console working in native TCPIP at least 127.0.0.1:80 now shows in netstat -an. However I still get the same error in the error log and localhost still does not show or work.

    Maybe this sparks some ideas, at least someplace to look.

    Please help me get this install working!!

    Thanks!

    DBS4M

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Ignore

    All,

    Ignore this thread. No longer working for that client and also no longer using that machine, so point is no longer valid.

    DBS4M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •