Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: dump database doesn't work in Sybase 12.5.3 EBF12599

    After migration to sybase 12.5.3 the comand 'dump database xxxDB to "D:\Archives\xxxDB.dmp"' doesn't work any more.
    We've had never problems with Sybase 12.0.

    The backupserver is running, I can 'ping' it.

    In sybase-error-log there is

    error 7220
    SYB_BACKUP not found in interfaces file.

    Has somebody had the same problem and how to solve it?

    Thanks in advance
    Udger

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    207
    post the output of sp_helpserver

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by mkalsi
    post the output of sp_helpserver
    Thanks for your help,
    attached the output from sp_helpserver.

    Udger
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    2

    Dump database not working

    The error mentioned refers to a mismatch in entry found in the sysservers and the interfaces file or it could be that the information in the interfaces does not include the SYB_BACKUP entry i.e the backup server.
    Please check whether the backup server is listening on the port specified in the interfaces file by using the netstat -a option.


    Quote Originally Posted by Udger
    After migration to sybase 12.5.3 the comand 'dump database xxxDB to "D:\Archives\xxxDB.dmp"' doesn't work any more.
    We've had never problems with Sybase 12.0.

    The backupserver is running, I can 'ping' it.

    In sybase-error-log there is

    error 7220
    SYB_BACKUP not found in interfaces file.

    Has somebody had the same problem and how to solve it?

    Thanks in advance
    Udger

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    207
    Use sp_addserver srvname, null, srvnetname to add the backup server name to sysservers table. srvname should be 'SYB_BACKUP', and srvnetname should be the backup server name in the interfaces file.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    2

    dump database does not work

    Hi,
    Mkalsi is right , the entry in the sysservers shows that the backup server network name is reset to the default value of SYB_BACKUP.
    If the update does not reflect after executing the command you may have to update the system table maually.
    sp_configure "allow updates",1
    go
    update sysservers set
    srvnetname="BIELCONCERTO_BS"
    where srvnetname="SYB_BACKUP"
    go


    sp_configure "allow updates",0
    go

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Unhappy

    I think u should check ur interface file in which u should have an entry of backup server.


    Quote Originally Posted by Udger
    After migration to sybase 12.5.3 the comand 'dump database xxxDB to "D:\Archives\xxxDB.dmp"' doesn't work any more.
    We've had never problems with Sybase 12.0.

    The backupserver is running, I can 'ping' it.

    In sybase-error-log there is

    error 7220
    SYB_BACKUP not found in interfaces file.

    Has somebody had the same problem and how to solve it?

    Thanks in advance
    Udger

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •