Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BA [ARG]
    Posts
    137

    Unanswered: External User on Windows

    Guys, this is driving me crazy.
    I had an external user configured on my Oracle 9.2.0.5 database on a Windows 2003 Server.
    It was working, I use it to make dump backups.

    Now, without any change on any oracle param it just stoped working.
    I have two instances, for one it's working, for the other it's not.
    Both instances are on the same server (so I'm using the same sqlnet.ora file).
    Today I removed and recreate the user on both instances, but I keep getting the same problem.

    The parameters are the same on both instances:
    Code:
    os_authent_prefix                    string      OPS$
    os_roles                             boolean     FALSE
    remote_login_passwordfile            string      EXCLUSIVE
    remote_os_authent                    boolean     FALSE
    remote_os_roles                      boolean     FALSE
    Do you have any ideas of why this could happen??
    Is there another parameter related to external authentication that I don't know?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Cool


    Do you have the same ORACLE HOME for both instances?
    In any case you need a password file for each instance under OH\dbs.

    HINT: orapawd file=orapw<instance name> password=<password>
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BA [ARG]
    Posts
    137
    Yeap, they're using the same ORACLE_HOME.

    I found out only on difference in the parameters, the one that is working has a db_domain defined, the other one doesn't.
    But it was working on both a week ago.

    Must be some of those "windows" issue...

    I can't bounce the DB right now to reflect the change on db_domain, I'll try it later, if that was the problem, I'll post it here so it can help others.

    Thanks for the reply, LKBrwn!

    Regards,
    DKG.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BA [ARG]
    Posts
    137
    No, it wasn't that... I'll keep looking.

    If anybody has any thoughts I'd appreciate it.

    Thanks & Regards,
    DKG.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    1,137
    What kind of authentication have you in sqlnet.ora (I know it doesnt explain why one instance works and the other doesnt). Its just that one of our backups failed because we had none in sqlnet.ora authentication which we had to change to NTS to get working again.

    Alan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BA [ARG]
    Posts
    137
    It's on NTS, it's not that.

    Perhaps I should consider to install a Linux instead of Windows...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •