Exclamation Unanswered: Autocomplete information!!!!!???

I am building a database which will have repeat customers in it.....

Coming from a very non-technical background and all self-taught so please speak s l o w l y and simply!!!

Any help very much appreciated, thanks...

For the repeat customers I do not want to retype the contact details as these are (largely) unchanged, records are determined by Sales Order Ref which is unique....

Is there a lookup/autocomplete function that I could get my head round easily so as to be able to input client name e.g. John Doe which on inputting autocompletes the address held for John Doe...

Thanks any help, even if you can give me the techie term for this function I can then look up tutes etc.
    pachamama
    www.researchbank.co.uk
    Fortune Global 500 Databank

Provided Answers: 6
    Generally you would not store that information more than once. A typical setup for something like this would be a customer table with customer number, name, address, etc. That would only have one record per customer. Then you'd have an orders table, and each time a customer ordered something, you would only store the customer number there. You'd use that to get the address from the customer table when you needed it.
    Paul

Also

I might also add in a CustomerID field which does not allow duplicates. The field could be created by (for example using the first 4 characters of the last name, first 3 characters of the first name, first 4 or 5 characters of the address and 5 numbers of the zip code. Personally I like to create CustomerID fields (non-numeric) which tell you something about the customer's info and makes sure no duplicates are entered if they enter it correctly. Of course this makes things more difficult with updating and so on but if you have a lot of linked tables and are linking by numbers instead of by the CustomerID, it does have it's paybacks being able to tell something about that customer via the CustomerID.