Unanswered: Stored Function Problems

Hi all

Sorry i'm a newbie to stored functions, and I'm trying to write a function to insert a row and return its new row id. From reading the manual I've got this far (see below)

PHP Code:
    CREATE OR REPLACE FUNCTION  InsertCategory(catName varcharcatParent intRETURNS INTEGER AS $$
        DECLARE

Id_cursor 
                CURSOR 
    FOR SELECT currval('categories_categoryid_seq') AS id;

Id 
                Ids
    %ROWTYPE;

BEGIN
            INSERT INTO categories
    (nameparentVALUES(catNamecatParent);

OPEN Id_cursor;

FETCH id_cursor INTO Id;
        RETURN 
    Id.id;

END;
    $$ 
    LANGUAGE plpgsql
    But my function doesn't work and I don't understand why

I'm wondering if this is the most efficient way to accomplish what you want. With a trigger function (after insert) you could simply have new.id returned.

Ok so how do I do it baring in mind that, I don't understand the pl/psql language at all despite reading the manual and trying to understand it
    Last edited by 949Stu; 10-05-05 at 06:20.

I'm not sure what you want to do with the id value. Pgsql is a very simple scripting language - from your code it looks like the syntax is very similar to PHP. I noticed that you had some trouble with the pgsql chapter in the PostgreSQL manual, but the syntax is pretty similar to the PHP code you wrote, so I think the learning curve won't be too great. There is also an example of a trigger function. BTW, I think you can write the function in PHP - I believe there is a module for it. Perhaps the conceptual glitch is that with PostgreSQL, lots of things are done internally within the database rather than in the front end.