Unanswered: Parse a 255 Char Text Field for Multiple Strings

I have a table which stores the results of a software scan in a table which contains a 255 character field named path. On ocassion, the file search returns a hit from a location which is invalid, i.e., any path which contains the text string "Transfer" or "Old C". When I am ready to retrieve the data in my select statement, I want to skip those entries.

I am a 15 year veteran of Progress 4GL, but, novice to SQL. I know that searching character fields for strings is cumbersome, but, this is the legacy code I inherited:

and upper(s.path) not like '%OLD C%'
    and upper(s.path) not like '%OLD D%'
    and upper(s.path) not like '%TRANSFER%'

That looks extremely inefficient to me, but, I'm new.

I used to do a Progress 4GL statement like

IF INDEX(ENTRY(UPPER("TRANSFER","OLD C","OLD D")),s.path) NE 0 THEN NEXT.

Something is missing in my Progress code, but, that's not important. I need an efficient select search.

Thanks,

You might try something like this:

Code:
       and INSTR( upper(s.path), 'OLD C' ) = 0
       and INSTR( upper(s.path), 'OLD D' ) = 0
       and INSTR( upper(s.path), 'TRANSFER' ) = 0
    It runs much faster for us. The faster part (I believe) is that INSTR returns the first instance of the search string. Once it finds a match, a value is returned. The LIKE statement searches the entire string every time.

In all of our tests, we have also found that the explain plan for this type of statement runs much better. Not really sure why, so if anyone would care to comment on this, I'd be thrilled to know more...
    JoeB
    save disk space, use smaller fonts

So, looking at your sample, would I be correct in my logic that the following would run even a little faster:

AND NOT ( INSTR(UPPER(s.path), 'TRANSFER') <> 0
    OR INSTR(UPPER(s.path), 'OLD C' ) <> 0
    OR INSTR(UPPER(s.path), 'OLD D' ) <> 0 )