Unanswered: Parsing a string value

Okay,

This is one of those that I think I should be able to get but it's eluding me.

I'm getting a string value input from the user in a text box on the form. The values are then passed to an SQL statement that generates a report.

In the text box the user is asked to specify a state or states they'd like to search for the report. The problem is I can't put the and/or statement into the string.

So if a user enters "AK" it's fine. However, if they enter anything additional like AK, AL, ME then the query sees it as one big string and returns no records. Initially, I thought I could use the instr() function and substitute an " OR" in place of each comma but haven't gotten that to work yet.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.
    Chris

Let's have a look at the current SQL query string.

Environment:
    Self Taught In ALL Environments.....And It Shows!

SQL and such.

The SQL is fine.

It's the incoming string from the text box that's a problem.

Right now, the sqlST variable is in "non-working" mode. Meaning, it's me just working on ideas/options.

Thanks for the help.
    Chris

strTerm = frm.txtTerm
    strCouns = frm.txtCouns
    strST = frm.txtST
    strCEEB = frm.txtCEEB

If Len(strTerm) > 0 Then

sqlTerm = " AND ([APP_TERM]= " & q & strTerm & q & ") "

Else

sqlTerm = ""

End If

If Len(strST) > 0 Then

Lposition = InStr(strST, ",")

'Debug.Print Lposition

If Lposition > 0 Then

sqlST = " AND ([ST] = " & q & IIf(Len(InStr(strST, ",")) > 0, Left(strST, Lposition - 1) & q & " OR ", strST) & q

Else

sqlST = ""

End If
    End If

If Len(strCEEB) > 0 Then

sqlCEEB = " AND ([HS_CEEB] = " & strCEEB & ") "

Else

sqlCEEB = ""

End If

sqlAll = sqlTerm + sqlCouns + sqlST + sqlCEEB

Debug.Print sqlAll

qsel = "SELECT Master.CAMPUS_ID, Master.[SOC#], Master.GENDER, Master.F_NAME, Master.L_NAME, Master.CITY, " & _