Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    13

    Unanswered: How difficult is it to make a sychronisationfunction?

    How difficult is it to make a sychronisationfunction?
    I have a meetings database. Sometimes the meetings are enterd localy and need to be sychronized with the main file. Is this hard to do? where do i start. If you need more info on the situation, just ask!

    Thank you for your reply!

    Joost

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    6
    My opinion is it is not worth it. Syncronisation is not as simple as writing a function, there is a whole nother technology/logic/set of rules regarding synchronizing.

    It is possible but would require a formidable effort.

    My advise is to either use SQL Server or write all of the server-side scripts to view/edit/manipulate your database online. That way there is only one copy and you dont have to sync/download/upload it all the time.

    There is some software out there that will sync an access DB but i dont have the title.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Synching your offline databases could be very simple, or ludicrously difficult. It depends on why, how and what you intend to synchronize. If we're talking taking attendance or something like that, and you just want to import the client data, that's fairly simple. If you want to do other things, like generate insurance quotes and integrate the quotes into your primary database, that could excruciatingly difficult to manage.

    What do you intend to use this for?
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    13
    project information.
    an employee goes with his laptop to a destionation for a meeting. On his way back in for example the plane, he filles in the results in the local database. When he comes back home he sychronizes the information with the central file.

    so your working with:
    - company information
    - meeting information
    - project information
    - minute information

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Will it be all new information or do you have to update information already in the database? Inserting new stuff is far, FAR easier than updating current...
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Teddy
    Will it be all new information or do you have to update information already in the database? Inserting new stuff is far, FAR easier than updating current...
    Yes i thought of that as well.
    Good thing is that mostly the data will be new.
    Im still thinking of situations where it ould happen that data needs to be changed.

    maybe i can limit things, writing a organizationprocess for the users saying you can only insert new and not update current.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    13
    thanks for the quick reply btw

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    That may be wise. Allowing updates to current information is a "true" synchronization. That is a whole different can o' worms. For instance, what happens if someone makes critical updates to a given company's information then a field agent comes back and wipes it all out with his "update"? How do you manage the actual synch? Dumping new stuff in is pretty easy though, so long as it isn't key dependent.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    13
    lets say its inserting only,

    i do i start?
    do i need to make an compare function ? or control it with some kind of attribut?

    for exampe:
    i have a company table.
    code----name----
    1----name x
    2----name y
    3----name z

    a field agent comes back and made a new company, but when he left, there were only 2 companys in the central file. An collegue made a new one.
    But on his trip, the filedagent had created a new company as well. His local database looks like this:
    code----name----
    1----name x
    2----name y
    3----name A

    The agent gets home, sychronizes and the result is:
    1----name x
    2----name y
    3----name z
    4----name A

    All relating tables need to be updated as well.
    for example the minutes information. A minute can involve a company. So if the company id changes, it needs to change as well in the minutes table.
    Last edited by ice-9; 11-02-05 at 10:02.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Think of the keys on the client database as being temporary. Create a new record in your "main" database for each record on the client's machine, but don't import the primary key, as that obviously wont work. You can use the primary key on the client's machine to reference all of the other data that needs to be imported.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •