Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Autofill

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    53

    Question Unanswered: Autofill

    Is there away that if a user types in an employee id that it will then autofill in the rest of the data????

    CAT :-D

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Yes, there is. Read up about AfterUpdate events.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,424
    Provided Answers: 8
    or use a combo box
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Yes - providing that the application already 'knows' what the rest of the data is.

    Out of curisoity what is the rest of the data you need to fill in? Are you sure you need to fill it in. (is having the employye ID good enough - remebering that you cna pull any inforamtion using a query providing that you gave its index / key value

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    53
    The premise behind this form is that a user would enter in their employee ID and the then the form would fill in their name, department and pull any courses that they were already signed up for. That way they could edit what they were enrolled in or add an additional course in that form.

    C
    CAT :-D

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    87
    I have the same problem, i select with combobox product, and i need to autofill price in the next field for that product.This is working with Form.

    All products and their prices are stored in another table.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    So I'd suggest unbound combo or list box with student ID (& name [ as secondary column]), and because of the high muppet count in universities / colleges another combo / list box showing surname, forenames and student ID. Not all students can remember what their id is (some don't even know what course they are on let alone what subjects they are on.

    Design your form (probably form + sub form [for courses]) as normal (using bound controls). In the combo / list boxes place some code in the boxes on click event (list box) on change/click combo box.

    You option call is to either set a filter
    eg
    me.filter ="[StudentID]=" & cmbStudentID
    me.filteron=vbtrue
    OR
    me.filter ="[StudentSurname] like " & chr$(34) & cmbStudentName & "*"
    me.filteron=vbtrue

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •