Question Unanswered: HTTP session scope

I am trying to discover how the HTTP server maintains sessions, if indeed it does. I can find lots of information on db connection pooling and database authentication methods but as a developer I am only interested in how a users session information is preserved between browser requests.

Specifically I am looking for clarification on how I can maintain session context information, for use in triggers, for a user connecting through the HTTP server using basic authentication.

If a new session is created for each browser request then I will have to set the context on each call. If the request process applies cached session information to a pooled connection then what are the limits of this information and its duration?

I realise this could be a rather extensive topic so any alternative suggestions or pointers to useful documentation would be greatfully received.

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    It may be because I am sorely sleep deprived, but what relevance does your question (& possible answers) have to do with Oracle?
    Any solution for you has minimal or non-existant Oracle content.
    Google is your friend it you are willing and able to use it.
    Amazon has dozens of books on this topic.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.