Thread: Help needed

Red face Unanswered: Help needed

Hi all. First let me say I am self taught on the computer, have had some classes here and there, but learned most stuff hands on. I can write html and work on creating websites, but have little experience with access data base. With that said.........

I work for a non profit organization. I plan events and keep track of expenses I have to spend for these events. I need a data base, to keep track of all the bills I receive. There is a catch though, the vendor I order from, will send me a total bill. However, I am the main office and order for 10 branches (other offices). So after I get the bills I allocate them. I break down the bill saying what amount of the bill goes to each office.

So I need a few things, a data base which will help me track all of these expenses, by year and event. For example, we have a run in December and a Walk in May. So I may want to run a report asking for expenses for the walk in 2005. Or the run in 2004. Or all in 2005. But if it is possible, I want to identify what each office has in expenses. For example, one bill is $2000.00 but $200 is for Office 1, $100 is office 2.

Does any of this make sense. I started creating a data base many times. Creating fields like year, event, item, quantity, price for each item, on and so forth. But I have no idea what to do about breaking the bill down. If it is $2000, and the shipping is $20, and the order needs broken down between 10 offices, but the shipping will be broken down bases on the quantity each office ordered. See now I have confused myself.

I just don't know where to begin and how to get this work and have been reading online for weeks now. Any suggestions???

Oxfordshire, UK
    Hi There,