Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313

    Unanswered: How to schedule the timer

    Hi:

    In MS Access:


    How do I schedule the timer? Does anybody help me?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,423
    Provided Answers: 8
    The timer on the form is just a Timer to delay something on that form

    so if you want to Schedule something to run

    What I have done is create a New access file link the Tables

    in the Autoexec macro do the job and quick the database

    then I use scheduled tasks in the windows control panel to start that mdb file.
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Why are you scheduling automated email? Keep in mind that scheduling in access is a bit risky. If you have a project that requires time sensitive email, you are going to expose yourself to liability by using access. That said, myle's suggestion is about as good as you can get. Well, short of creating your own NT service.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Depends what you are trying to schedule

    do you mean schedule an access process, for example to run a batch process overnight. If so then you probably need touse the windows scheduler calling a batch file which kicks off Access with the appropriate macro / commands

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    How to set Autoexec Macro?

    Please let me know, thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    have a look at the help system with an index / serach for autoexec

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    I know how to create autoexec macro.

    create a macro and save the name as Autoexce

    But, how can I set the time?

    It only runs when open the database.

    I want to set 2pm to run everyday/every month. How can I set the time?

    Please let me know, thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Ummm... read the first reply....

    Quote Originally Posted by myle
    in the Autoexec macro do the job and quick the database

    then I use scheduled tasks in the windows control panel to start that mdb file.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    So, the scheduler Task is for open the database file (Autoexec), right.

    Is it correct?
    Great.

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    Hi:

    I tried that. But the Status show "Could Not start".

    What is the problem?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,423
    Provided Answers: 8
    Open scheduled tasks
    add a new one opening the msaccess.exe first only

    Run the line should look like
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\MSACCESS.EXE

    then add the program you want to open

    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\MSACCESS.EXE" "P:\AUTORUN$\DAYCOUNT.MDB"

    Note the "
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    Hello:
    I added a schedule task.

    then add the program you want to open

    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\MSACCESS.EXE" "P:\AUTORUN$\DAYCOUNT.MDB"


    Then using the same schedule task, go to properties, then add "P:\AutoRun$\file.mdb"

    Is it right?

    Why do we need "AutoRun$" ? Must we use it?
    Thanks.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,423
    Provided Answers: 8
    P:\autorun$\daycount.mdb

    is a program of mine that workout the daycount of LTI's

    you show be putting you mdb file

    driveletter:\foldername\whereitis\my.mdb
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    My computer still doesn't work.
    Let me tell you the steps:
    1) Control panel->Scheduled Tasks
    2) Add Scheduleed Task
    3) Click Next -> choose the MS Access->Next
    4) choose Daily , set the time
    5) enter the user name: I put some in this box
    password is blank.
    6) Finish.

    After the time is on, status still "Could NOT start"

    What's wrong with it?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,423
    Provided Answers: 8
    must have username and password

    in the Run as type

    domainname\username

    mind is

    myle-01\stephan

    then click set password

    mine is ************ twice



    LOL
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •