Unanswered: SQLServer declare new variable based on another variables value

Hi, I'm a complete newbie to SQLServer and t-sql generally. What I want to do is create a new variable in a stored procedure based upon the value of another variable.

eg in the loop below I want to create 10 new variables, called @var0,@var1,@var2 ...@var9

declare @varname nvarchar(10)
    declare @i integer

select @i=0

while @i<10
    begin
    set @varname = cast(('@var'+cast(@i as char)) as nvarchar(10))
    set @i=@i+1
    end

Does anyone know of a way to do this?

short answer is 'no', it's not possible in the current scope. however, you can create a new scope and have the vars active there.

e.g.

Code:
    declare @i int, @sql1 nvarchar(1000),@sql2 nvarchar(1000),@sql3 nvarchar(1000)
    set @i=1
    while @i<=10
    begin
    set @sql1=isnull(@sql1+',','') + '@var'+cast(@i as sysname)+' nvarchar(10)'
    set @sql2=isnull(@sql2+' ','') + 'set @var'+cast(@i as sysname)+'='+cast(@i as sysname)
    set @sql3=isnull(@sql3+',','') + '@var'+cast(@i as sysname)
    set @i=@i+1
    end
    select @sql1,@sql2,@sql3

exec('declare '+ @sql1+ ' ' + @sql2 + ' select ' + @sql3)
    --
    -oj
    http://www.rac4sql.net

I appreciate your help, thankyou!

one more question now - if i wanted to then generically reference my new variables whilst in the loop, how would I do that?
    While I can see that the third of the statements lists the new variable names, I can't see that i would be able to use

select @var + cast(@i AS sysname)

as even an idiot like me can see that its not gonig to work
    Last edited by fionalpicton; 10-26-05 at 11:31.

As I said, it's not possible in the current scope. I.e. it's not possible to create a variable dynamically and set a value to it.
    --
    -oj
    http://www.rac4sql.net

thats so frustrating!