Thread: Help

Unanswered: Help

im trying to set up an application but i have never used access before.
    What i am trying to do is have a list of, Business name, business address, business contact name, engineer name, engineer contact number, and job description....i want to be able to enter all the information manually, but i also want the engineer names to appear in a drop down list and when the selected person is highlighted i want it to automatically input the contact number for that engineer. How do i go about this? have i bitten off more than i can chew for a first time user.....its really bugging me but i have tryed everything i can think of

out on a limb
    Provided Answers: 59
    The first step is to decide what data is needed, how it should be stored, part of the this process is called normalisation - effectivdly in each data store stor eonly information to that entity.

Paul Litwin, on Rudy937's site as a good article on normalisation which may be of interest

For now resist the temptation to dive into access and design your tables. Take a pencil & lots of paper

to give an example
    you identify a requirement to add an engineer's name to a job, and include his / her / their / its phone number - so that means you have an entity / data store / tabel which stores inforamtion pertinent to an engineer. Normalisation comes in when you try to resolve what is truly relevant to that entity at that level -. The aim is not to duplicate information.

so say you engineer had the folliwing attributes
    email address
    telephone number
    cellphone number
    lump hammer size