Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Add user

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    140

    Unanswered: Add user

    Hello,
    I have IDS 9.4 on Windows XP and I want to create some users that
    can connect to informix server. For testing I use ILogin demo from Informix Client SDK 2.81. Everything is OK when I connect to Informix server as informix user or system user in Windows.
    But I want more users that can connect to Informix server and I dont want to create these users every time in Windows XP as system users.
    I try to create/add user into informix.sysusers table but it doesnt work, I cant connect to database.

    Any idea?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    143
    Hello,

    Informix uses the OS users only. So you have to create the OS users in order to access Informix db.

    Bye

    Nitin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    140
    It's not a good for me, but
    thanks for the information.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    780
    Hi,
    Other alternative is run Informix on Unix/Linux.

    Gustavo.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    140
    Its not possible in my situation, but only for interest,
    on Linux/unix is not required create system users?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    11
    you are required to have a user account on the box, but thats all. In linux/linux you can set the account up so that they can not login remotely, or give them a restricted shell.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    140
    Sorry but I dont know what do you mean byt the "box".

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    11
    by "box" i mean the database server

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    140
    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •