Unanswered: Character legnth

I am a newb when it comes to MS Access, I am teaching myself how to use it by creating a db for problem tracking and resolution. I did everything ok, but I to have the character legnt to be unlimited or that max that I can get. Right now I only can get 255 and I need more. Is there a way to change this? If so can you give me easy instructions on changing this? Like I said I am a newb to MS access. Thanks.

Here is the one I am working on, I need to have the boxes that say problem and resolution to have unlimited character also when typing step by step procedures in those boxes, when I hit enter to got to another line it goes to a new entry.
    example.
    if I want to create a list
    1. do this (enter)
    2. do that

I cant. Can I change this also?

Thanks again
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails access.jpg  

The Text type field in a table has a max of 255 characters. The Memo type has a max limit of 64K ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

Quote Originally Posted by M Owen
    The Text type field in a table has a max of 255 characters. The Memo type has a max limit of 64K ...
    Great thanks. Now for mmy other problem, On the bottom box where the resolutions are to be typed, how can I get it to enter data like word? What I mean is, when I enter something there I cant hit enter to go to another line, it goes to a new entry (like the tab key). Also if I have several lines of text and I want to chenge the font on one line it will do it. I dont want this. Is there a way so I can just enter data?... Do you know what I mean?
    Last edited by sixbangstang; 11-12-05 at 12:50.

linefeeds:
    design view
    click your memo box
    properties
    other
    enter key behaviour: new line.
    fixed!

fonts and other formatting: in general, forget it!
    A is a database (or data-aware frontend depending on your point of view)
    A is not a word processor.