Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313

    Unanswered: Auto Update (Save)

    I have a MS Access question,

    If I just use the tables only,

    one table is paid check, another is check history.

    I input the data into paid check tbl,
    whereas check history is automatically updated itself, the data come from paid check tbl.

    So, how can I do automatically updated (transfer data from paid check tbl to check history tbl)?

    Do NOT use forms.

    Can we use AutoExec when open the database, then loop forever (update the data) in one function, is it a good way to do it?

    Please let me know, thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Sounds like you have a questionable backend design. What is it?
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    I want to do auto update.

    For example:
    Input table:
    ID,Name, Invoice #, Date issued, check #, amount fields.


    I have another Check table, which I need to input the data.
    invoice #1, invoice #2, invoice #3, Date Issued, check #, amount

    (one check pay a few invoices),

    then I want to do auto transfer updated data from Check table info. to the Input table record.

    eg.
    Input tbl:
    ID, Name, Invoice #, Date issued, check #, amount
    1___a_____n1
    2___b_____n2
    3___c_____n3


    Check table: I input the following data
    invoice #1, invoice #2, invoice #3, Date Issued, check #, amount
    n1_________n2_________n3_______11/17/2005__t123____100

    Then, a few moment, the Check info. will automatically transfer to the Input tbl.
    It will change to:
    ID, Name, Invoice #, Date issued, check #, amount
    1___a_____n1_______11/17/2005__t123____100
    2___b_____n2_______11/17/2005__t123____100
    3___c_____n3_______11/17/2005__t123____100

    Therefore, how can I do auto save. I just work the table (No using Forms)

    How can I set every 5 mins to do auto update/transfer? (No using Forms)

    Please let me know, thanks a lot.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    1. Your database design is seriously, seriously flawed. Read this, particularly the section on not duplicating columns.

    2. Use forms.

    3. If you don't want to do either of the above, use Excel. You CAN NOT force access to work like Excel, and you cannot force Excel to work like Access. Choose the right tool for the job.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    if you are permitting direct table edits (IE not using a form) then you don't have the ability to do (or fake) any automatic actions (unless you are using a server back end - which I'm guessing you are not).

    you can fake automatic actions by using vba code, attached to suitable events.

    Unless you have a really important reason to use direct tbale edits, then they should not be used (unless you have some usually quick and dirty reason to modify something).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    So, if I use forms to do that.

    The forms can set auto update/transfer the data to another table, right.

    if so,
    I go to work on the forms.
    Please let me know, thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Sure, the forms can be made to do that. If you want to save yourself a migrane in the near future, you may want to consider properly designing your back end instead of forcing Access to do things it shouldn't be doing...
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    Sorry, what is back end design?

    Where can I see? where do I work that? I don't know, I am still beginner. Please let me know, thank you, friend.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Access / JET cannot do any automated processing, such as writing to to tables, UNLESS you code it. Its a design stylistic within Access.

    You place some code into the forms on current event to write inforamtion to another recordset

    read up on either DAO or ADO recordsets

    myrecordset.edit or myrecordset.insert
    [columnx]=valuey
    .update

    are worht a good long look - but if you need to do something sophoisticated you need to get a good book on Access before diving in.

    Agree with Teddy that your database design is flawed - it isn't normalised. reaed the referende provided by Teddy - its simple but full of insights.

    BTW front end / back end is a means of referring to the user interface (you are using Access as you Front End) and back end refers to the data storage / retriveal method (almost certainly JET - the default data storage / retrieval method in Access) Access can use many different data stores (such as JET, SQL Server & MySQL amongst others) The back end design referes to the table and query design, IE how you have defined your fields (columns) in each table, how they are related, what validations you rperform on them.

    Although diving in to Access can be a good way of learning the product I'd seriously spend some time reaading up on it to get the basics of database design sorted out firsst. Changing the design once you have started writing forms and reports is a pig and very very expensive in terms of time to fix.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    The "back end" is what makes a "data"base a database. See, without the back end, a database would just be a "base", and that's no good. It would be horribly confusing trying to track baseball stats in a mere "base". I mean the terminology alone would be maddening.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    Teddy - that's almost poetry.

    change your signature to :
    baseball without the ball = database without the data

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    I have a question.

    In the forms,
    I write the function on the current event.

    current event will run the function forever, right.

    Please let me know, thanks.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    wrong .
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Quote Originally Posted by accessman2
    I have a question.
    In the forms, I write the function on the current event.

    current event will run the function forever, right.
    Please let me know, thanks.
    I have an answer - most of your questions can be quickly and easily answered by looking at the help system. RTFHS (RTF Help System)

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,004

    Talking

    Hi Accesman2,

    You come here quite often asking for help, and whether you know it or not, you have been given such help repeatedly. Do yourself a favor and READ the link provided here by Teddy. You seriously need to go back to square 1 and read up on the basics of Relational Database...design, fundamentals, etc. It seems you are as you say a beginner, which is ok, and trying to get the forum to walk you through your entire projects, one step at a time. You're getting bits and pieces worked out along the way, but with nobody knowing the ENTIRE scope of your project(s) it's hard to give you an overall viable solution. Do yourself and others a favor and READ Teddy's link OR read some book on the basics. It's for your own good and you'll learn a lot, more and sooner. Just friendly advice. Really hope you do that and start to enjoy database design or maintenance.

    have a nice one,
    BUD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •